Deli Roll

Can you believe Shabbos is here once again?!  I feel like the weeks are just flying by these days.  I remember it being Sunday, and then before I turn around I’m cooking for Shabbos all over again.

Here’s a recipe for a dish that has made its way onto Shabbos tables world-wide and has become very popular in recent years.  I haven’t found a recipe that I like more than my own, so this is what I stick with.  It’s rich, it’s creamy, it’s spicy with a touch of sweetness, and it’s great served hot, cold, or at room temperature.  The perfect party food?  I think yes!

Deli Roll 1

DELI ROLL

Ingredients:
1 sheet of puff pastry dough, thawed
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup spicy mustard
12 oz. sliced turkey
12 oz. sliced pastrami
1/4 cup sweet n’ sour duck sauce

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease or line a 12×15-inch baking sheet and set aside.

Place the puff pastry sheet flat on a lightly floured surface, or on a piece of parchment paper, and smooth with a rolling pin.

Combine the mayonnaise and mustard.

Spread 1/4 cup of the mayonnaise/mustard mixture evenly over the dough.  Top with a layer of turkey, and then a layer of pastrami.  Repeat with another 1/4 cup of mayonnaise/mustard, another layer of turkey, and another layer of pastrami.  End with remaining mayonnaise/mustard.

Starting from the longest end, roll the dough jelly-roll style.  Transfer to the prepared baking sheet, seam side down.

Slice the deli roll into 1-inch slices, only going about 3/4 of the way down.  The deli roll should still remain one piece at the bottom.  Pour the duck sauce over the top, allowing it to seep in between the slices.

Bake on 350 degrees for one hour, until the top is puffed and golden.

[print this recipe]

Deli Roll 2

Don’t you just want to bite into this yummy juicy goodness?  Ok, I know I’m not the best photographer out there but I still think this looks delicious.  This is one of my most favorite foods ever.  Let me know how you like it!

Until next time… xoxo, Faigie

2 thoughts on “Deli Roll

Let me know what you think!