Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes

I know this is a very basic, not-original-at-all recipe, but it’s a staple in my house so I figured I’d share it.  After all, the whole reason I started this blog was to help keep my recipes in one place!  And what would my virtual recipe book be like without my most basic recipes, as simple as they may be?!  It’s actually not so simple; it took me some effort to measure out all the ingredients for you guys. I hope that helps you cook as much as it helps me feel validated.  Like this is a REAL recipe now.

Oh, I just remembered another great thing about this recipe: it’s kosher for Passover!  Yes, I admitted defeat.  I actually started cleaning my house this week.  It’s about time, no?!  I’m still working on my full Passover menu, so I’ll post that as soon as I’ve finally settled on what to eliminate.  There’s no way we’d ever eat all the food I really want to make. 

Back to the topic.  This is the only mashed potato (or smashed potato as my kids call it) recipe that my little ones will eat.  They love the creamy texture that the mayonnaise adds to it.  Someone once told me to use raw eggs to make the potatoes creamy; which I tried.  But then I just got nauseous thinking of eating raw eggs, so we stuck to mayonnaise in our house!  The hint of garlic gives the potatoes a wonderful flavor, and the parsley is just a beautiful finishing touch.  I hope you like it as much as we do!

Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes 2

CREAMY GARLIC MASHED POTATOES

Ingredients:
5 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
1/2 small onion, diced
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
parsley flakes for garnish, optional

Directions:
Place potatoes and onions in a small pot and cover with water.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes.

Drain potatoes and onions.  Mash well.

Add mayonnaise, garlic, salt, and pepper.  Continue to mash until creamy.

Garnish with parsley flakes, if using.

[print this recipe]

Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes 3

Let me know what you think of my not-so-sophisticated recipe.

Try not to dwell on the horrible pictures; I seriously need some photography help.  I’m working on it, I promise!

Until next time… xoxo, Faigie

2 thoughts on “Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Let me know what you think!